Page Header

About Murray State College

About Murray State College

Murray State College has two campuses located in Ardmore and Tishomingo, Oklahoma.  Located in Johnston County, Tishomingo is the county seat and originally was founded as capital of the Chickasaw Nation. One of the oldest towns in Oklahoma with a rich background of historical and cultural associations, Tishomingo has grown to include many conveniences located in larger cities.

With a population that has never exceeded 3,500, the town offers many conveniences without civic problems that exist in larger industrial centers. Adding materially to the general desirability of our location is Lake Texoma, one of the largest manmade lakes in the world. This lake is immediately adjacent to Tishomingo and the Murray campus. Its location adds to the possibilities of an already well-known recreation center, besides providing unlimited opportunities for research in biology and other related fields.

Murray State College serves a 10-county area which includes Atoka, Bryan, Carter, Coal, Garvin, Johnston, Love, Marshall, Murray and Pontotoc counties. With campuses in Ardmore and Tishomingo, Murray State serves more than 3,000 students annually in traditional classroom settings and through online programs. The College’s mission is to provide opportunities for student learning, personal growth, professional success and community enhancement. Murray State College offers associate degrees in applied science, arts and science, and a Bachelor of Technology in Gunsmithing.

Murray State College Institutional Policies and Procedures Manual